Store bought or homemade?

Lets talk about cookies.

There are nights when all I want is a store bought cookie. Do you have those? The deliciously sweet brightly colored cookies. Whether it’s the pink wafer cookies or Oreos for the nights when I feel like eating cookies non-stop or Pepperidge Farm mixed boxes that I try to eat with tea and feel a little sophisticated. Whatever kind of cookie it is I want it bought and not homemade. Did I mention that I tend to binge eat cookies? About an hour after these cravings pass comes the guilt. The guilt for all the cookies sitting in my cookie jar that have not been eaten. The cookies I do not deem eat-worthy anymore. I have two kinds of cookies in my cookie jar right now; flour-less chocolate chip fudge and ice box. Both are rather delicious but after weeks of eating the same cookies I’ve been craving a store bought. So alas the homemade cookies I felt so proud of just sit there looking longingly out at me while I refuse to give them a second look.

Lately I’ve been noticing all these recipe posts on pinterest and Food52 that boast homemade store bought cookies. Yes, I said homemade store bought. Basically they are a homemade version of the store bought cookies that you love so much. The ones where the ingredients are hard to pronounce and you wonder how to get a cookie to be that shockingly pink! If you are like me you’ve been wondering if they really do taste like the store bought versions, if they could really take the place of all the processed sugar you shift out of your mind while eating them, and, if they can take that place are they really going to be worth all the effort? I don’t know the answers to those questions, sorry if you were expecting me to give them to you. I did however decide to make the homemade Pepperidge Farm brussels cookie from the recipe that I found on Food52. Their picture of the cookie looks so similar to a real brussels cookie that I had to give it a shot.

Here is the recipe: http://food52.com/recipes/19279-diy-brussels-cookies

(A few things for this recipe: I accidentally added 8 TBLS of butter instead of 7, I really just forgot to cut off that one tablespoon. So I added an extra teaspoon or 3 of the oat bran. And my cookies were perfectly browned and crisp at 15 minutes in the oven. I also didn’t add any cream to my chocolate. I cheated and heated it in the microwave.)

Now I didn’t have an actual brussels cookie with me to taste test but I have to say that this recipe comes pretty darn close. Man gave them an 8 on a scale of 1-10. 10 being the most like a brussels cookie and 1 being nothing like it. (I’m not sure if he really knows what a brussels cookie tastes like, but I’ll take it!) Do I think that the homemade version will substitute the store bought version from my life? No. Will I make these again? Most definitely yes, but probably when I have visitors so they can appreciate my crafty cookie making skills.

My point is that as much as people try to tell me that the homemade version tastes better than the store bought, I have to call bullshit. There are delicious chemicals in the store bought version that makes it taste so good that I simply can’t replicate at home, nor do I really want to. It isn’t that the homemade version tastes bad, it just usually doesn’t taste better, because it is made of different things. Do I think the homemade versions are better overall? Yes. Because they are made with real ingredients and you can control what goes into them. Its a beautiful line to cross.

Next stop, homemade Mint Milano Cookies!

blog sign off

Leave a Reply

