Sweet Scones; memory of childhood

Scones are one of those breakfast items that you can do pretty much anything with. This recipe comes from an old scone cook book that my mother has had as long as I can remember. We used to make them all the time when I was little, it is the first recipe that I can remember making all by myself. I’m also going to be bold enough to say that this may be the last scone recipe you will ever need, it is so simple that you can add anything your heart desires to it. Now lets get started!

IMG_0559

Here is the recipe that my mom printed out for me before I moved so that I can always have it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbls. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 8 Tbls. (1 stick) cold unsalted butter cut into pieces
  • 1/4 cup sugar (use 1/3 if you want something a little sweeter)
  • 2/3 cup milk

Directions: Heat oven to 425 degrees. Mix flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Now comes my favorite part; mix in the butter. This is where it gets a little messy. You want to put all the butter pieces into the bowl and mix with either a pastry blender, if you have one, or rub in with your fingers. Your fingers might get a little sore but keep at it.  Here I am rubbing in the butter.

IMG_0560

Rub in the butter in until you have a course mixture, then toss in your sugar. Take a fork and mix in the milk. Once the milk is incorporated start using your hands to form the dough. It won’t be super sticky, maybe a little wet, but you can smell the milk and the sugar and it is divine. If you want to add in any nuts or berries here is a good time. Divide the dough in half and form two small flat circles, about an inch high.

IMG_0567Now if you want you can go ahead and brush the scones with egg white and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar like I did to the dough on the right. It just adds a little something extra. Next cut the circle into wedges, I usually make three cuts and have 6 wedges. Put them on your cookie sheet and into the oven they go.

IMG_0564

Bake for 12-15 minutes until the sugar starts to split and the corners start to brown. They will expand just a little bit but they won’t get a whole lot bigger.

IMG_0568

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do, I ate three in one sitting! If you want more sugar you can slice them open butter them up and put some more cinnamon sugar on the inside, honey is also a good alternative. I think that once summer comes around with all the delicious berries I’ll throw some in the mix. Enjoy!

blog sign off

Leave a Reply

