Homemade Chai Syrup or My New Favorite Drink

IMG_0545

Homemade Chai. I’ve seen so many recipes and actually tried a couple too and they have never turned out. Last night I realized that the reason this is was because all the recipes I had tried were based on making the black tea portion of the drink. I would add all these spices to hot water and let it stew for hours until it was ready. The result was usually some really spicy water that no one at my tea party could be persuaded to drink, even when their cup was filled with mostly milk and honey. Now, I haven’t had a tea party in a long time, but a nice chai on a cold wintery day did sound delicious. Luckily I had found a new one to try on Food52.com. If you have not heard of this website check it out, it is AMAZING!

This is the kind of recipe that is so easy and delicious that on one hand you want everyone to try it but on the other hand you want to covet the recipe and allow your friends to only try it during tea parties or give it out as gifts on birthdays and Christmas so that you become the magical chai goddess. That is how much I adore this recipe.

Here is the site for the chai syrup: http://food52.com/recipes/25891-vanilla-bean-chai-syrup if you want to check it out on food52.

I altered their recipe a little bit because I didn’t have a couple of things so here is my alternate recipe:

1 can (14 ounces) condensed milk

2 teaspoon ground cardamom

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon allspice

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon ginger

a couple shakes of white pepper

1 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla extract

I realized that the reason this recipe is so fabulous is that you are making the sugary milky goodness that is a chai. All you have to do is mix the above ingredients together and store in a mason jar in your fridge. When you are ready to drink you make a cup of black tea and stir in a spoonful of your chai mix. I had two cups in one day, it is absolutely delicious!

blog sign off

Leave a Reply

