Eggnog Ice cream. Or, What To Do With Leftovers.

IMG_0459

It is the end of the holidays, yes, we have to admit it. A lot of people still have their Christmas trees and lights and wreaths, but come on people! It is time to move on to the lackluster time of winter. Now some of you might have leftover eggnog like me and in all honesty I only bought it last week but we ran out of espresso beans and I can’t make eggnog lattes anymore. We don’t have bourbon so I can’t make a nice festive cocktail either. Next best thing? Ice cream!

I modified this recipe from the comments and reviews section of a recipe I found online so it is completely my own version.

Ingredients:

2 Cups eggnog

1 Cup heavy cream

2 Eggs

1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp Vanilla

1 tsp Nutmeg

Directions: Heat up your eggnog and heavy cream in a medium saucepan to around 170 degrees. Thats is the magic temperature for ice cream. If you don’t have a thermometer wait until the custard coats the back of a wooden spoon. (I got my thermometer cheap form the grocery store.)IMG_0460

While that is heating up go ahead and whisk your eggs, sugar, and nutmeg together. Once the liquid is to the correct temperature go ahead and pour about half of it into the egg and sugar mixture while mixing. This is my attempt to give you a visual with only two hands.

IMG_0462

Make sure to mix while you pour so that the eggs don’t cook. Once your egg and liquid mixture is all mixed up go ahead and pour it back into the remaining custard. Now add the vanilla and heat back up to 170 degrees stirring constantly. Once the mixture is heated strain it through a fine mesh strainer to catch any cooked egg bits. You can see the egg bits that are caught in the strainer and the ones leftover in the saucepan below.

IMG_0464IMG_0466IMG_0465

Now cover and chill in the refrigerator until completely cool, about an hour, or three. Once chilled go ahead and put the creamy custard into your ice cream machine and use based on manufacturer instructions. I have a kitchen aide ice cream maker and it took around 10 minutes to turn into creamy frozen deliciousness. Once complete put into your freezer containers and let it freeze up! The outcome is amazingly rich eggnog custard ice cream and when I say rich, I mean it. You don’t really need a whole lot to be satisfied.

IMG_0471

IMG_0495 IMG_0496

These aren’t the very best pictures, but I tried to show you how delicious this ice cream is. I even scraped out the ice cream maker the best I could, I had half a mind to lick it clean!

blog sign off

Leave a Reply

