Pumpkin Bread

Let me start by saying this is the BEST pumpkin bread I have ever had. It is an old recipe, if you couldn’t tell by the stained recipe card below. Also, the fact that it is a recipe card and not based on an online recipe post should tell you how old this is. I do not know where this recipe came from but I do know that my family has been making it since I was a little girl. This recipe is the best because it makes not one but two loaves of bread, it is easy, and it isn’t overwhelmingly like pumpkin.

Image

I always gather up my ingredients first. After many attempted cooking experiences halted by not having all the ingredients I like to double check.

Image

The first thing you will do is mix your wet ingredients. Below I have gracefully put in the eggs, sugar and oil to mix up before the pumpkin. Keep in mind that you will want a BIG bowl and you will want to hand mix this recipe. 
Image

This is what it looks like all mixed up…

Image

Now add in your can of pumpkin. If you have a large can just use half of it and save the rest in a Tupperware for when you run out of pumpkin bread and want to make more. 
ImageMix it all up again.

Image

Now mix up all your dry ingredients. I don’t have a sifter so I just make sure to smash up the lumps with a spoon.

Image

Combine the ingredients! This is where it gets messy and you will see the need for your large bowl. Mine was only just large enough. You can sort of tell by this picture that I only had about an inch or so of space left over at the top of the bowl. Needless to say, I made a mess! Image

Now that all your ingredients are mixed up you will want to grease your bread pans!
Image

Fill both of your bread pans about half way. I had to wipe off the tops and sides of my pans as I spilled everywhere. You will come to learn that I am a messy baker!
Image

Put the lovely pans in your oven which has been dutifully preheating to 350 degrees. And voila! You have two delicious loaves of pumpkin bread. I eat a piece every morning for breakfast. Enjoy! Image

One thought on “Pumpkin Bread

Leave a Reply

